Harris Tweed Hits Glasgow = Tweed Ride 2011

30Jul11

harris tweed ride, tweed ride, glasgow, scotland, 2011

The Harris Tweed Ride is now pretty much just a week away! I have been following the worldwide phenomenon that is Tweedrides = Dapper Tweed + Bicycles  since I discovered them last year and have just been waiting for one to come to Scotland. So I am starting to get pretty excited about the Harris Tweed Ride in Glasgow next weekend, which seems to be shaping up to be a mighty tweed trip. Not simply relying on the jolly fun that biking in tweed could bring, the lovely organisers have got a pretty immense line up of other fun things to partake in during the ride. In their own words: “Scots porridge & honeycomb… Stornoway Black Pudding, St Mungo’s Lager and West Coast Oysters en route to a finishing party with a swing at the 5 Star Blythswood Square Hotel you’ll be guaranteed a great day out”  I was sold on the porridge and black pudding.

As I have said before – there are thousands of organised bike rides that take place each year… so getting people that want to cycle together obviously isn’t a problem. However, the tweedride seems to offer a little more than just a quick ride (!), so I can’t wait to get my tweed on and take part in this jolly fun day out on my bike.

I’ve got to say choosing an outfit was a little difficult and especially trying to combine the potentially tropical weather that could be encountered in Glasgow. A city which has truly its own weather system. However, I went out shopping for some shorts today and was happy to find this fun purple pair. Which I think go pretty well with the other bits and bobs (bag, belt, scarf, blouse, shoes, hat) which I have managed to pull out of some hidden corners in my room – I am quite the collector of anything brown and leather or brightly coloured generally.  The only other main item that I had to purchase was the mighty tweed Jacket – it is a genuine Harris article – a la ebay. So yep, unless I change my mind drastically over the next week re outfit – the only thing I have to do now is to finish building my bike! I mean I do have two other options, but it would be nice to take this new/old one along for a day out.

The only problem is that my tickets haven’t arrived yet! So need to chase that up on monday!

It’s well worth keeping an eye on the Harris Tweed Facebook page   as they are constantly updating it with fun tweed trivia and new tweed treats that will be available on the day. And I will be sure to do a little post event update next week 🙂

No Responses Yet to “Harris Tweed Hits Glasgow = Tweed Ride 2011”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

